Industry award winners

IHSA honoured health and safety champions at our 2023 Annual General Meeting.

Electrical Utility Safety Excellence and Innovation Award

Ontario Power Generation – Confined Space Electronic Application Team

Industry award winners

In response to deficiencies identified by internal audits in the nuclear industry, this multidisciplinary team planned, developed, piloted, and implemented a new digital solution to reduce documentation errors, decrease duplication, and ensure only qualified workers undertake confined space work. The Ontario Power Generation (OPG) team also created extensive support resources, a computer-assisted learning program, and a confined space job aid to further assist workers—plus an error-reporting process to support the continuous improvement of the app.

Gil Samson Award North Bay

Regional Labour-Management Committee

The committee worked to expand its reach beyond the North Bay area by organizing multiple hybrid education sessions on subjects including supervisor communication, silica exposure, and electronic logging devices. Worker mental health was also a significant focus: one session offered resources from the Canadian Mental Health Association, while a half-day event looked at topics such as opioids in construction and crisis management.

John M. Beck Award

Bridging North America

The diligent efforts of multiple joint health and safety committees continued to protect the more than 1,000 people working on the Gordie Howe International Bridge. The committees’ many initiatives—including comprehensive new-employee orientation procedures, a real-time hazard identification program for workers, emergency-response drills, and the provision of on-site chiropractic care—reflected Bridging North America’s exceptional commitment to the health, safety, and well-being of everyone involved in one of the continent’s largest infrastructure projects.

Maria (Filice) Mason Award of Excellence

Carrie-Lynn Carpenter

During more than a decade with Ontario Northland, Carrie-Lynn has been committed to improving the health and safety of the company’s coach operators, as well as the customers it serves. Among her many roles, Carrie-Lynn oversees departments responsible for driver training— including training in non-violent crisis intervention and anti-human trafficking measures—as well as the preventative maintenance of all coaches. She has also taken an active role in protecting her community by coordinating with the Thunder Bay OPP detachment to stop the transport of illegal drugs and weapons in Northern Ontario.

Ken Hellawell Transportation Safety Award

Dave McDonald

Dave supported driver and fleet safety throughout his four-decade career at Bridgestone Tire Company, as well as his many years on the Fleet Safety Council’s Northern Ontario chapter. In particular, the knowledge he imparted in wheel-off and commercial vehicle alignment workshops helped thousands of dealers, fleet managers, and operators to improve the safety of their vehicles—and consequently, the safety of all road users. Recently retired, Dave continues to serve his community as a school bus driver for the Greater Sudbury Area.

Roy A. Phinnemore Award

Jack Oliveira

A member of LiUNA Local 183 for 38 years and its Business Manager for more than a decade, Jack has been a staunch advocate for worker rights and safety—as well as inclusion and diversity efforts at construction and industrial workplaces. During Jack’s leadership tenure, LiUNA Local 183’s membership has grown from 25,000 to more than 70,000 workers, and his efforts have resulted in significant improvements to member benefits and their overall health and safety.

Board of Directors Recognition Awards

IHSA also honoured three outgoing members of our Board of Directors for their many years of service and valuable contributions.

Ivano Labricciosa: Member and the Management Co-Chair of IHSA’s Board of Directors.

Glen Drewes: Member and Labour Co-Chair of IHSA’s Board of Directors; Member and Labour Co-Chair of the Provincial Labour-Management Health & Safety Committee – Construction; Member and Labour Co-Chair of the Construction Legislative Review Committee, the Northwestern Regional Labour- Management Health & Safety Committee, and the Electrical Trade Committee.

Tom Nicholls: Member and Labour Co-Chair of IHSA’s Board of Directors; Member and Labour Co-Chair of the Provincial Labour-Management Safety Committee – Electrical Utilities.

Glen and Tom also received certificates of appreciation from the Provincial Labour-Management Health & Safety Committee.

Rewarding information

Learn more about how IHSA recognizes health and safety leaders—and nominate your colleagues for our 2024 awards.